Aim for these important philosophies

Happy New Year! May you be truly blessed in 2010!

Our last quote of this week is from Voltaire who said this, “The discovery of what is true and the practice of what which is good, are the two most important aims of philosophy.”

Joke of the week:

This Christian couple felt it important to own an equally Christian pet. So, they went shopping.

At a kennel specializing in this particular breed, they found a dog they liked quite a lot. When they asked the dog to fetch the Bible, he did it in a flash. When they instructed him to look up Psalm 23, he complied equally fast, using his paws with dexterity. They were impressed, purchased the animal, and went home.

That night they had friends over. They were so proud of their new dog and his skills, they called in the dog and showed off a little. The friends were impressed and asked whether the dog was able to do any of the usual dog tricks as well. This stopped the couple cold, as they hadn’t thought about “normal” tricks.

Well, they said, “Let’s try this out” Once more they called the dog and they clearly pronounced the command, “Heel!” Quick as a wink, the dog jumped up, put his paw on the man’s forehead, closed his eyes in concentration and bowed his head.

Here is another story from Random acts of kindness
A few years ago I had managed to screw up my life so badly that I found myself without a home and without hope. I’m ashamed to admit it, but even then I was so absorbed by my own self-pity that all I could think of was begging enough money to buy the cheapest drink I could find.

One day I was sitting in front of a store panhandling when a woman walked by with a small boy in tow. She ignored my pitch and hurried away. As I watched them go down the sidewalk the small boy broke free and came running back. He stood in front of me, fumbling in his coat pocket; he pulled out a five-dollar bill that was almost certainly more money than he had ever held before, and handed it to me. I was completely dumbstruck and just sat there staring at him with the money in my hand. By then his mother had returned and with tears in her eyes gently led the boy away. He turned back once to wave and they were gone. I don’t know how long I sat there, but I have not had another drink since then.

You Create Your Day by the way You Think! Be Present!
Go make it a Magnificent Day!

The Daily Social Dose is short and easy to digest.
Sign up now, for FREE!
http://shawnaschuh.com/DailySocialSignup.php

Blessings,

& The Schuh Crew

Shawna Schuh, CSP

Helping Sales Professionals, Executives, and Service Teams profit through advanced people skills.

2421 Hwy 47 | Gaston, Oregon 97119 | 503-662-3044

www.ShawnaSchuh.com | www.CYUY.com

~ by Shawna Schuh on January 1, 2010.

Leave a comment