People Skill: Do you Call?

The arena sand is think and cushiony and makes me glad I have on boots. The dogs are excited and as each new canine arrives barks sound and tails thump. It’s our third Monday of the month gathering to Pray and Play with our Pooches.

You can come if you like – it’s open to everyone and it’s free – if you’re interested email me Shawna@ShawnaSchuh.com – we meet in rural Oregon.

I’m bringing it up because there is a fairly big group on my email list that gets the notice – and I never know who will be there – except there are a few that let me know they won’t and it’s those few that I remember, that I appreciate and that are building a relationship with me and a stellar reputation for themselves.

Theses few people take 30 seconds to email me and say a simple, “I’m going to miss this month.” Or they leave me a cheery voice mail, “Shawna, I won’t be there – have fun!”

What this does, and they know it, is ease my mind. I’m not waiting around thinking more people are coming, they’ve helped me and I am appreciative, I’m impressed they went out of their way, I have warm feelings about them and they aren’t even there.

Think about this for a moment.

Most of us run around in our own little world, busy, consumed and if we can stop for a moment – a moment – and think, about how tiny things can ease life for others – how much better our relationships would be.

So – not only is it courteous to let someone know you won’t be attending something, it’s loving and an excellent way to build your reputation.

Remember, you create your day by the way you think – and behave! Make it magnificent!

Blessings, Shawna

www.peopleskills.us

~ by Shawna Schuh on January 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
