People Skills: Are You Expecting a Good Time?

I didn’t know a soul, had never been to this location, it was dark and rainy and I thought to myself, “What am I doing?”

Have you ever been there?

Last night I attended a Rock Club meeting. Who belongs to a rock club I wondered and would I fit in, what do rock people do at a meeting?

I like rocks. I’ve been picking rocks up on my travels, when I’m riding horses (and get off along the way) and places I want to remember. So in my quest to expand, grow and learn it seemed a fit to explore places where people are serious about rocks.

An internet search uncovered a local meeting and I decided to attend.

When was the last time you went to an event or meeting alone and knowing no one? It’s interesting and of course your experience has everything to do with you and your intent.

The people were very nice – of course I expected them to be.

People brought the rocks they had cut and polished and made into jewelry – which I was hoping for.

I learned a lot – a major reason I went.

So what intent do you have when you go somewhere new? Are you expecting a good time?

Remember this today and every day – what you expect you get.

Challenge – what new experience can you do soon? Stretch yourself – turn over a new rock!

Blessings, Shawna

www.westernspeaker.com

~ by Shawna Schuh on January 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
