People Skills: What’s Your Theme?

 What is your intention for this week and what’s your theme for this year? What is your focus today? And most important of all – what makes you happiest and is it reflected in your answers to these questions?

Ask yourself….

  1. Do I want a theme for this year?
  2. If so – what would be something that inspires me to action doing my happiest things?

For me this year it’s discipline – and I’m breaking that down even further to help me –

First to have discipline spiritually – praying, thinking and being – so I am setting the discipline of:

  • Prayer and journal time each morning
  • Thinking right thoughts and catching myself when a negative thought shows up and kicking it out!
  • Being – having the discipline to be in the moment more and more – to not spend any time in the past or the future –

 

This is huge for me –

Yesterday I was with friends and we were talking about business growth and what we want from our lives – and one fab man shared the story about a fisherman who took a younger ambitious man out to fish with him.

That day the fisherman caught a lot of fish and had an exceptional day and the younger man said, “You’re very good at this!” and the fisherman said, “Yes – I love to fish!”

The younger man said – “You should expand!” and the fisherman said – “Why?”

“Because then you could have more boats catching more fish and bringing in more money!”

And the fisherman again said, “Why?”

And the younger man got even more intense and said, “Because if you expanded and had more boats and more profits and more people it would free you up to do what you really want to do.”

And the fisherman said, “I already do that – I love to fish!”

No doubt this story has been butchered by my writing of it and how many versions have been altered in the telling – so forgive me – however the moral is sound – what is it you love to do and are you doing it? It hit me anew that when we are “Being” in the present – and doing what we love to do – in this case I’m writing – what can be more glorious?

So what is your theme for 2011? What do you love to do and will do more of if you simply name it and claim it?

I’ll keep you posted on my progress – and I would love to hear your themes! Please post your theme in the comments – and we can inspire each other!

Happy New Year – Happy 2011 – Remember you create your day by the way you think – Make

it Magnificent!

Blessings, Shawna

www.ShawnaSchuh.com

~ by Shawna Schuh on January 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
