Weenie Words

No discussion about clear communication is right in my mind without bringing up “Weenie words” – my phrase for those words that weaken us and the communication.

Words I catch my coaching clients saying and ones that we eradicate through awareness:

What are some weenie words? (There are many so today we’ll only focus on a few)

Big weenie word: Can’t

When you say “I can’t” you make that true – usually it’s not really true – unless it’s something physically impossible and even that is rare – usually when someone says “I can’t” it many times really means, “I won’t”

Another weenie word: “Try” – we can use Yoda from Star Wars to help us when he said, “Do or Do Not – there is no try.”

There are many more weenie words – the challenge for you today is to become aware of weenie words – from you and others – and eradicate them today!

Power word: I will – so use that more – I will do this or that – and then do it – powerful –

You Create Your Day by the way you think! Make it Magnificent

~ by Shawna Schuh on April 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
