How do you think about money?

The theme this week is money. I didn’t realize when I selected it how many quotes – and of so many various opinions there were on the subject. At first I was overwhelmed – what was my theme behind the money? The reason it was included is because when looking through my books on quotes I saw an abundance to choose from; then as I settled down to decide which ones to use it became apparent that there are huge differences in opinion about money – and so it makes even more sense to tackle the subject.

So I’ve selected a sampling – and of course freely admit it’s my own bias about money that you will hear – and the gift for me was taking a look at that bias (a word I looked up): Bias – prejudice in favor of or against one thing, person, or group compared with another –  sometimes considered to be unfair – someone has a bias against something – example: A bias against foreign applicants. Then I decided maybe it wasn’t bias after all – simply a belief… but I digress…

So this week the theme is money – and as I share quotes with you I challenge each person reading this to think about how you think about money.

Quote: The first quote is just for fun and comes from Mark Twain who said, “His money is twice tainted: ‘taint yours and ‘taint mine.”

Now for a thoughtful quote – from Henrik Ibsen who said, “Money may be the husk of many things, but not the kernel. It brings you food, but not appetite; medicine, but not health; acquaintances, but not friends; servants, but not faithfulness; days of joy, but not peace or happiness.”

So for me this meant that money is needed for things that are needed – and the deeper life I live has nothing to do with money. It has to do with appetite, health, friends, peace and happiness. I am rich!

And because money is a fairly weighty topic – I’m going to share some fun oxymoron quotes to end each day. These all will come from the book: Oxymoronica by Dr. Mardy Grothe – a new and wonderful addition to my bulging library of words, quotes, ideas and what not.

Here is something from the Austrian-born English philosopher, Lugwig Wittgenstein, who once made the oxymoronic claim, “A serious work in philosophy could be written that consisted entirely of jokes.” He proved his point – and delighted his associates – with this observation: “When I came home I expected a surprise and there was no surprise for me, so, of course, I was surprised.”

Difficultly delightful, yes?

The Daily Social Dose is short and easy to digest.
Sign up now, for FREE!
http://shawnaschuh.com/DailySocialSignup.php

Blessings,

& The Schuh Crew

Shawna Schuh, CSP

Helping Sales Professionals, Executives, and Service Teams profit through advanced people skills.

2421 Hwy 47 | Gaston, Oregon 97119 | 503-662-3044

www.ShawnaSchuh.com | www.CYUY.com

~ by Shawna Schuh on December 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
