Healthy Rules to Live By

Happy Friday – and I am giving you something a tad bit different this morning – it’s from Joseph Fetterman who wrote out 10 Mental Health Rules for us:

1.    Have a Hobby; acquire pursuits what absorb your interest; sports and nature are best.
2.    Develop a Philosophy; adapt yourself to social and spiritual surrounding.
3.    Share Your Thoughts; Cultivate companionship in thought and in feeling. Confide, confess, and consult.
4.    Face Your Fears; analyze them; daylight dismisses ghosts.
5.    Balance Fantasy with Fact; Dream but also do; wish but build; imagine but ever face reality.
6.    Beware Alluring Escapes; Alcohol and barbitals may prove faithless friends.
7.    Exercise; Walk swim, golf – muscles need activity.
8.    Love, but Love Wisely; Sex is a flame which uncontrolled may scorch; properly guided, it will light the torch of eternity.
9.    Don’t Become Engulfed in a Whirlpool of Worries; Call early for help. The doctor is ready for your rescue.
10.    Trust in Time; be patient and hopeful time is a great therapist.

Friday story:

This is about mental health and a good reminder too!
Stand-up comedian and author David Brenner was signing books in a san Francisco bookstore when a young man handed him a newly purchased copy to be signed and said softly, “I want to thank you for saving my life.” Brenner replied flippantly, “That’s okay.” The young man stood his ground and said, “No, I really mean it.”

Brenner stopped signing the book and looked at him. The man said, “My father died. He was my best friend. I loved him and couldn’t stop crying for weeks. I decided to take my own life. The night I was going to do it, I happened to have the TV on. You were hosting The Tonight Show and doing your monologue. Next things I knew, I was watching you and laughing. Then I started laughing hysterically. I realized ten that if I was able to laugh, I was able to live. So I want to thank you for saving my life.” Humbled and grateful, Brenner shook his hand and said, “No, I thank you.”

Laughter does more than help us escape our problems. It sometimes gives us the courage to face them. As humorist Barbara Johnson has said: “Laughter is like changing a baby’s diaper. It doesn’t permanently solve any problems, but it makes things more acceptable for a while.”

You create your day by the way you think!
Go make it a magnificent day!

Want a daily reminder to help you focus 5 days a week?
The Daily Social Dose is short and easy to digest.
It acts as a nudge to your subconscious to act on your desires,
Monday through Friday. Sign up now, for FREE!

http://shawnaschuh.com/DailySocialSignup.php

Blessings,

& The Schuh Crew

Shawna Schuh, CSP

Helping Sales Professionals, Executives, and Service Teams profit through advanced people skills.

2421 Hwy 47  | Gaston, Oregon 97119 | 503-662-3044

www.ShawnaSchuh.com | www.CYUY.com

~ by Shawna Schuh on July 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
